Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
by Sascha S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2021 17:00:33

I couldn't have asked for more!

Cinematic game play, easy but elegant character creation and nearly unlimited possibilties for settings/ miniature ranges.

Had been a while since I enjoyed solo tabletop gaming so much. Such an amazing game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
by Felix S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2021 10:03:04

In my opinion it's the perfect set of rules for playing co op and singleplayer tabletop games without miniature ristrictions. I especially like the innovative dice system and the way units are activated without counting rounds and troublesome marking already activated miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zero Dark: Operation Nemesis
by Andrea N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2021 05:46:57

Highly recommended expansion! some additional nice rules plus a long narrative campaign. I think it's a must have when you like the base game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zero Dark: Operation Nemesis
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
by Andrea N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2021 05:43:58

This great is just a great game and a lot of fun. I have been playing it solo unfortunately doing to the current global situation but even solo is great fun a lot of tactical decision and open to a lot of customisation. You can certainly adapt any miniature to your taste. Love the dice mechanics and the background. I strongly recommend to buy the nemesis expansion as well which has a nice narrative campaign to play solo and some other interesting addition. Highly recommended game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
by Anthony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2020 23:23:56

This is an absolutely amazing sandbox skirmish game. It plays amazing solo and co-op and I can finally play a Star Wars in the style I want to play. You can use about any mini so this ruleset will cover star wars, generic sci-fi, modern and futuristic military operations. Throw in the Nemesis rules from the Nemesis expansion and you can create an amazing solo campaign. Endless possiblities and super fun to play.

The hero creation really lets you design your custom team to your style. The mechanism to generate bonus actions that can be used by any hero really gives this game more feeling of team coordination compared to any skirmish game i have played.

5 stars! I cant wait to see where this system goes and what is to come!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
by Ben R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2020 19:11:39

I am still a big fan of the Horizon Wars rules published back in 2016. Although that game was for platoon-sized combined arms sci-fi engagements, the low model count and innovative dice mechanics made it feel and play a lot like a skirmish game. A tremendously engaging and well paced skirmish game. So I was very interested to see what had changed for Zero Dark.

The author has managed to achieve something quite remarkable in this ruleset. The core mechanics will be familiar to Horizon Wars veterans, and many of the tactical tropes and load-out options will be pretty standard to a sci-fi tabletop fan. A nifty "AI deck" of playing cards (with the jokers!) is utilised as a way to generate unpredictable AI moves in the game and to generate random events.

What's REALLY good, is that the game is built to be fully Solo, Co-op, or Competitive from the ground up. Not one of these game modes feels like an afterthought. You and a buddy can team up to sneak through some gitty urban battlefield, timing the takedowns of sentries and making daring sprints from cover to cover. Or, you and a buddy can both be slick and competing special forces operators trying to steal the same bit of intel from a group of pesky insurgents. And, if for some reason, you find yourself indoors and alone for a protracted time (review written springtime 2020), then you can build a custom team and go it alone. The transition between these game modes is seamless. That's testemony to robust design.

You'll need some d12s, a deck of cards, tape measure, some counters to track status effects, and around 20 modern/sci-fi themed minis.

You'll quickly pickup the rules, and you'll rapidly see that they generate compelling narratives and cinematic spectacles in your games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks, Ben!
Horizon Wars: Zero Dark
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 17:28:39

The novel and very pleasing dice dynamics of Horizon Wars get elaborated on wonderfully in this 28mm skirmish game. It handles solo and co-op beautifully, with a very simple but engaging AI for your adversaries. Kitting out your squad is a joy as well, given the multitude of options available. Highly recommended for anyone interested in solo/co-op tabletop minis wargaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horizon Wars: Over the Horizon
by Jessica N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2019 08:20:24

Want to see your stompy Battletech 'Mechs and transforming Robotech Valkyries face off against your nice collectors edition Pacific Rim kaiju and frickin' Godzilla?!

No? Just me? Well, this will let you do it anyway!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horizon Wars: Over the Horizon
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Horizon Wars: Superheavy
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 04:54:01

Great product!

This gives you what it says on the tin... a bunch of super hravies to add to your game. This is in the form of Mecha, Tanks and Fliers. Some can be transports as well so great for scienarios. Full rules for each of them to build what you want

Cheers Matt



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horizon Wars: Superheavy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates